Introductory Topic: Reflection

When initially tasked with evaluating my digital literacies and presenting them in a blog post, I didn’t anticipate how challenging it would actually be, despite considering myself highly computer competent. What I didn’t realise entering this module from an Economics background – there are various skills I rarely exercise, such as my creativity.

Reflection – Digital Residents & Visitors

After eventually getting to grips with WordPress, I published my first blog and was fairly happy with the outcome. I was also confident my stance on Cornu and White’s spectrum laid close to the ‘resident’ end.

However, after reading posts written by fellow students, I began to doubt some of my initial thoughts. Sinead’s post introduced me to a particularly interesting concept by the Higher Education Academy, clarifying that you may be a heavy user of the Web, but you are not a ‘resident’ if you choose to be passive. This provided food for thought on the element of personal choice in the res-vis typology. I choose to be passive in virtually every aspect of the Web, bar social media. This made me question that I must be more of a visitor than I originally concluded. Furthermore, Sinead’s impressive self-made video reinforced my need for experience in creative software.

Intro - Reflect

Iarina’s post introduced me to Prensky’s revisited notion of ‘digital wisdom’. Upon researching this myself, I agreed with her point that it was probably a better concept helping to describe technological users today, although I do believe the res-vis concept to be very relevant still.

Conclusion

A few weeks into the module, it has already been interesting to experience learning from others with no face-to-face contact. Now I am familiar with the routine of the module, I am excited to discover more of the benefits to living and working on the Web.

(Word count: 300)

My comment on Sinead’s post: https://sineadboyle376.wordpress.com/2018/02/10/digital-residents-and-visitors/#comment-1

My comment on Iarina’s post: https://itd1e14.wordpress.com/2018/02/12/introductory-topic/#comment-2

Leave a comment